Pattern Review: Vogue 1282 Donna Karan top

Vogue 1282

Vogue 1282

This is a great looking top for summer! I would not have thought that a drapey cowl would work on someone as busty as I, but then I found something in a shop, and wear it regularly in winter. So, I wanted a summer equivalent.

The pattern is… interesting. it’s all one piece, no side seams, just a centre back seam, shoulder seams, and a partial seam at centre front. Cut on the bias, of course.

I thought that this top would work under a blazer for work, and bare either on a warm day or out for drinks with friends. Um, not so much…

Fabric: A soft, very drapey knit from Fabricland, in a digital print.

Adjustments Made

Because it was all one piece and the front was so drapey, I decided not to do a proper FBA. Instead, I just added an inch at the Centre front, and then taper out the extra at the hips. That was a mistake– I do recommend putting in FBAs on this one, to maximize your drape.

I shortened it at the shoulders significantly– the armhole went halfway down my side, otherwise!

Vogue 1282

Vogue 1282

As if that wasn’t bad enough… there’s the neckline. Yes, the photo on the model looks low-cut. Low cut’s an understatement! I think that model must be very, very, very tall… and so what goes “a little low” on her is practically to my navel on me. (I’m 5’5″). And let’s just say that J.Lo’s famous Versace dress does not suit someone of my dress size. And, frankly, even if I did have the figure of my youth once again, I wouldn’t be comfortable in  something that low cut.

So, I fiddled. I raised the seam inches– which then reduced the drapiness of the top. (I think that’s why the model’s bent over like that… it makes the top look drapier).

Sewing Notes

The instructions were fairly clear, except for the pocket for the weight at the centre front.

I also had some trouble with the binding for the sleeves– one side keeps flipping in. I think a more conventional facing, or even bias binding, would work better.

That said, the single-seam-up the back actually worked better than expected. The top fits loosely around most of your body, but a bit fitted at the hips, which keeps the draping in place.

Outcome

Top with jacket

Vogue 1282 with a blazer

I didn’t put the weight in at the centre front, because I wanted something washable and didn’t have anything on hand. I did test it out with a button, and think it may help with the fact that the cowl keeps flopping out, so you have to adjust that.

Not that that’s the worst of the problem… the top slips forward (the neckline sits back a little, rather than at the top of your neck, and the weight of the cowl pulls it forward). Which makes it indecent very quickly– you’re having to adjust your top constantly. This is a top for wearing to a party, where you stand still. Even sitting on a comfy chair at a wine bar gossiping with a friend leaves you having to adjust all evening long because you lean forward and/or gesture. I wear it with a plunge-front bra, to minimize the front part of the bra showing.

(My husband does love this top though!! And a friend of mine– who’s more willing to show her boobs than I am– thinks it’s fine).

I’m thinking of adding a chain or some weight along the back neckline, whether hidden or “decorative” and visible– perhaps that will add a counter-weight to the cowl, and keep it from slipping forward. Option two would be to find a piece of lace in a coordinating colour and sew it in at the sleeve seams to sit across my bust. Problem is, I’d have to back it with nude mesh or tricot, so that when the top slips down, you don’t see boobs through the lace!

Suffice it to say, this is for wearing in the evening, and not at the office!

However, I do like the top. It’s very comfortable, and looks good (when at the proper height). So I’ve worn it to several social events. Once I sort out the sliding-forward-to-indecency problem, I’ll wear it a lot more.

Vogue 1282 on the way out for a night on the town!

Vogue 1282 on the way out for a night on the town!

Leave a comment