Gummy, gummy, gummy!

So, I’ve totally fallen in love with making homemade gummies! They’re so easy to make, you can make them out of anything that tastes good – and they don’t have to be candy-sweet. Some even say that gelatin is gut-healing, so depending upon the flavourings, they could even be “healthy”. 

Basic technique

1 to 1-1/4 cups liquid
2 tbsp plain gelatin
Sweetener of your choice*

Equipment: stove, small pot, and a mould

Heat the liquid in the pot until it’s quite warm, but not boiling. It should be uncomfortably hot if you dip a finger into it. While stirring, sprinkle 1 tbsp of gelatin on the surface of the liquid, stirring it in as you add more; it will start dissolving in the liquid. You don’t want it settling on the top and clumping. Once all that gelatin is in, start the next tablespoon. Then keep stirring until it’s all dissolved.

(Some people bloom their gelatin: in a separate bowl, add a little cold water/liquid. sprinkling all the gelatin on top. Wait until it’s all sunken into/absorbed by the liquid, then add it to the pot. It works, but I like the method above).

Once your gelatin is all dissolved, pour your liquid into the moulds.

Refrigerate, flat. It’ll set by 30 minutes, but it’s ready for un-moulding in an hour.

Store in the refrigerator in a covered container.

* Note: I drink my coffee, tisanes, and golden milk unsweetened, but I find gummies made from those are a little bitter. I add some erythritol/stevia blend to my liquid – just enough to have the gummies taste the same as my beverages. Maybe a scant 1/2 tsp

Flavouring: anything that tastes good. I emphasize flavours that have some benefits, and either gut-healing or help with inflammation. But I’ll be experimenting soon with some options just for taste (and guests).

Golden Milk Gummies

  • I’ve discovered Golden milk (my recipe), and found that it works well in gummy format
  • I don’t add the coconut oil when making it as a gummy version – it separates when chilling and doesn’t look as appealing (also worry about stains)
  • I do add a little stevia/erythritol sweetener

Make the golden milk:

1-2 tbsp coconut cream/full fat coconut milk
1 tsp turmeric powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon, ground
1/2 tsp ginger, powdered
1/4 tsp black pepper, ground
pinch cayenne
2 cups light coconut milk*

Add spices to a small pot, then gradually add the coconut milk until all spices are wet and blended in. Add coconut cream, if using. Heat until it’s warm, but not boiling, and the coconut cream dissolves.

Then turn it into gummies:

Take 1 cup of liquid, and gradually add the 2 tbsp gelatin, stir until gelatin is fully dissolved, then pour into moulds.

  • Note: You can make a double batch if you use both cups of liquid, and 4 tbsp of gelatin

Golden Milk Gummies

Coffee Gummies

  • My first gummy! And still a favourite.

Method 1:

1 cup decaf coffee
Splash of vanilla
Erythritol/stevia
Coconut oil

The coconut oil does separate out, but it tastes good.

Method 2:

  • I do this with leftover coffee – it’s wonderful, creamier than method 1, and means no wasted coffee. But it does mean it’s caffeinated.

Make your favourite blended coffee (e.g. 2 cups coffee, 2 tbsp coconut milk, 1 tbsp coconut oil), and blend for a minute in your blender.

Heat gently 1 cup of the coffee in a small pot, with a 1/2 tsp of erythritol/stevia blend, dissolve in the 2 tbsp gelatin, pour into your moulds, chill.

Optional:

  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • Omit the coconut oil if you don’t want a thin, visible layer

Coffee gummies with a thin layer of coconut oil

Herbal tea gummy

  • I bought some loose leaf tea that had a delicious fruity scent – pomegranate/lavender/green tea. It just had to be gummied! And it was even better than expected.

Prepare the tea as you normally wood — boiling water, and steep for the required amount of time.

Transfer 1 cup of the tea to a small pot, add 1/2 – 3/4 tsp erythritol/stevia blend, heat gently, then gradually stir in the 2 tbsp gelatin until dissolved. Pour into your moulds, chill.

  • I’ll be trying it with Rose Chai tea next, but using coconut milk rather than water as I like my chai teas very milky
  • I’ll take photos the next time I make them

Bone broth gummies

  • I haven’t tried it yet, but I expect bone broth gummies will be good if you need your bone broth to be more portable and leak proof!

Fruit gummies

  • I’ll be doing these this weekend – stay tuned! I want it to be more “keto” than plain juice or the usual very sweetened versions
Leave a Reply

